placeholder newsslider


NIH-DFG Research Career Transition Awards Program

The DFG and the US National Institutes of Health (NIH) have initiated a joint funding program.

Innovation scoreboard published for 2008

The EC has just published the 2008 Innovation Scoreboard, which assesses innovation performance of countries across the Europe.

The Royal Society Rosalind Franklin Award 2009

Call for Nominations

The Royal Society Pfizer Award 2009

Nominations are invited for the Royal Society Pfizer Award

NC3Rs 3Rs Research Funding Scheme

The NC3Rs invites grant applications from UK establishments for research which will advance knowledge and application of the 3Rs and laboratory animal welfare.

Nominations for the 2010 Louis-Jeantet Prize

Nominations for the 2010 Louis-Jeantet Prize for medicine will be accepted until February 15, 2009.

Science minister wants focus on fewer disciplines

Plan would concentrate UK funds on research of benefit to the economy.

Practical Guide to EU funding

The new Practical Guide to EU funding opportunities for Research and Innovation has been published

Shaffer International Glaucoma Fellowship Program

Every year, the Glaucoma Research and Education Group (GREG) in San Francisco sponsors an international ophthalmologist for an 18-month Clinical Research Fellowship

Review of the Vanderbilt Eye Institute Symposium 2008

For two days in October 2008, researchers collected at Vanderbilt University for a focused symposium entitled “Neurodegeneration in Glaucoma: From Mechanisms to New Treatments.”

Atlas of Ophthalmology

The Atlas of Ophthalmology is a public online database, free of charge, edited by specialists in the field.

Science in the meltdown

The research enterprise faces many uncertainties in the looming global recession - but it also has many strengths that may help it weather the storm. Nature investigates.

ARVO Call for Nominations: 2009 Annual Meeting Program Committee

Nominations for the 2009 Annual Meeting Program Committee may be submitted through February 13. All nominations must be submitted electronically.

US-President Obama's Inaugural Nod to Science

“We will restore science to its rightful place, and wield technology's wonders to raise health care's quality and lower its cost.”

New rules for international travelers to the US

Citizens of current Visa Waiver Program (VWP) countries travelling to the US are subject to the new Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) from January 12, 2009.